HSU residents drink hot cocoa and escape end of weekend duties

 

By Hailey Donohue
Flapjack Chronicle

As soon as the clock struck 8 p.m. Sunday night, around a dozen residents rolled into the Redwood lounge. Most of them came in pairs or in a group, but all of them came for the same reason — hot chocolate and to escape the drab rainy weather that had been going on all day.

The Redwood residence hall is known for its classic fireplace in the middle of the lounge. Resident advocates found that it would be the perfect place to hold a hot chocolate social on Sunday, March 2. For some, like Hill resident Arturo Basurto, freshman, it was also held at the perfect time for a study break, since it went on from 8-9 p.m.

“If they had planned the social at any other time I probably wouldn’t have been able to make it because Sunday is my study day for the most part,” Basurto said. “When I first saw the flier for the event I was excited because I was able to use it as an incentive to get all my work done earlier in the day and then get out of my room for a well-deserved break and spend some time with my friends in Redwood.”

More and more people came from all over campus throughout the hour for the cocoa and to sit by the fire with some of their close friends. This was the case for Canyon resident Shannon Carey, freshman, who found that reaching out to another residence hall’s social benefit her.

“Normally I don’t get out much or go to socials that my hall holds but I’m glad I came out this time,” Carey said. “I had some interesting conversations and met new people that I probably would have never found on my own. I even met a person who has the same major as me which was really cool because no one ever has the same major as me.”

Another perk of the event was that it was held on the same night as the Oscars, which brought people down to the lounge to also engage themselves in the annual awards show. The main reason why Hill resident Tommi Duck, freshman, was present that night was for this purpose.

“I had been waiting to watch the Oscars all weekend and then I saw that Redwood was hosting a hot chocolate night at the same time as the event so I thought why not go and watch the show there,” Duck said. “It was so much better watching it on the big screen in the lounge surrounded by people rather than on my computer screen alone.”

Leave a Reply

